Select Page
Since 1992, the Gerald Moore Award has been presented to piano accompanists of the song repertoire. It was founded by Graham Johnson in 1992 in memory of the late great Gerald Moore, an iconic figure in the world of accompanists during the 20th century, and made possible by the generosity of the pianist’s family.

From 2002 – its 20th year – the Award will be managed by the Royal Philharmonic Society. Please visit the RPS website for more information.

RPS Website

Gerald Moore CBE

1899 – 1987

The profession of concert accompanist was irrevocably changed by the advent of Gerald Moore on the musical scene. His charm and legendary sense of humour were firmly underpinned by a sense of proportion and fair play which never allowed the more temperamental among his singing colleagues to gain a selfishly deployed upper hand.
He was shaped like an artist by his collaboration with many of the great singers of his generation, including John Coates, Elena Gerhardt, Elizabeth Schumann, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Victoria de los Angeles, Elizabeth Schwarzkopf and the great Kathleen Ferrier. His recordings with artists like Peter Dawson and John McCormack gave his fame an added popular base. His memoir Am I Too Loud (a rhetorical question unnecessary from one so well balanced) was a resounding success worldwide.

If you have any queries about the Gerald Moore Award, or would like to support it, please contact the Royal Philharmonic Society on +44 (0)20 7287 0019 or

The Gerald Moore Award was until 2022 a registered charity (no. 1001457).
Donations to it are still warmly welcome through the Royal Philharmonic Society.